3 Exercises to Fight Back Against Fibromyalgia

I apologize for it being over a week since my last post. I’ve been hurting. On the bright side, I am now a regular contributor at SABTrends. It’s not paid but it’s publication besides my blog which will help with future freelance jobs. I have permission to share on my blog as well which also means I can spend more time with more personal blog posts. So here’s my first article on SABTrends! Thank you all for your awesome support!

There’s nothing compared to the widespread pain of fibromyalgia. For me, it’s the burning sensation along my spine, the feeling of stabbing needles in my feet, and the constant aching of my shoulder muscles. That’s just the fibro pain, that’s not including the arthritis and a lower back problem.

Chronic pain, especially fibromyalgia, is a commonly misunderstood diagnosis. Doctors are quick to throw prescriptions at you but the best way to combat the pain is a mixture of medicine, logging what causes flare-ups, alternative therapies, and exercise!

Exercise is an excellent strategy to reduce the debilitating pain and fatigue of fibromyalgia. Inactivity can worsen your pain and your fatigue, believe it or not. There are many different types of exercise that have been proven to help fibro so we will discuss the best of these!

Starter Tips

Exercise for fibro sufferers can be daunting. It can cause fibro flare-ups if you don’t take precautions to protect yourself and you’ll never want to exercise again. You must keep active to keep yourself from being depressed and giving up. I’ve created a helpful list to adhere by to make your exercise experience more comfortable.

 
• Start with just short durations of exercise a few times a week. It’s best to start at a lower physical activity than your body is used to so after a few weeks you can build yourself up. Before you know it, you’ll be above and beyond where you started, practicing almost every day.

 
• Before you start exercising, do a few simple stretches. It will wake your muscles up and wake you up. Stretching before a workout won’t help you avoid injury, but it will make your workout so much easier. Just make sure it’s a light stretch. You don’t want to injure yourself by pulling a muscle that hasn’t been worked recently. Stretch after you exercise as well so you won’t be super stiff the rest of your day.

 
• Master of your breathing while you exercise. Deep breathing through your nose will open up your lungs and it will keep your heart rate from sky rocketing. Exhale on the moves that require the most exertion.

 
• Hold your stomach muscles tight during any workout you choose. This is called isometric toning. Isometric toning will strengthen abs and even burn calories. That’s a great amount of benefit for little effort!

 
• Feel free to take breaks between workouts. You don’t want to overdo yourself and feel tortured the next day.

 
• Consistency is key. However, if you are having a flare up, don’t feel guilty for sitting out for the day. There’s only so much you can do.

 
Yoga

 
I’ve found that yoga is the better method for me. It’s a light workout and I always end my poses feeling refreshed and accomplished. Yoga slowly builds up your strength, flexibility, and helps fight stress. Yoga also helps to improve your sleeping habits. This is something that those with fibromyalgia fight with every night. There are great yogis on YouTube that specialize in yoga poses specifically for those with fibromyalgia.

 
• Find a nice quiet place in your home to lay your yoga mat. You don’t want to be distracted while practicing your poses.

 
• Follow the yoga poses as close as possible in order to maintain your balance. Proper posture is a must.

 
• You want to feel a slight pull on your muscles, but if it hurts, you are overstretching.

 
• Use a cushion or a pillow when you kneel for extra comfort!

 
Strength Training

 
Doctors use to believe that strength training could damage the muscles in those with fibromyalgia but recently that thought has been thrown out the window. Weaker muscles need more exertion to do even the simplest tasks compared to strong muscles. Strength training can be critical for those with fibro. It will assist with muscle aches, energy, and stiff joints.

 
• Strength training shouldn’t include heavy weightlifting for fibro patients. This roughness on your body can do more harm than good.

 
• Ensure you do an exercise for all the major parts of your body, such as your legs, arms, back, and stomach.

 
• Use resistance in your training. You don’t need any fancy equipment to implement resistance; you can use your body or an item around your house to help. Don’t worry about how much you’re lifting, instead worry that you’re lifting regularly.

 
Aerobics

 
Aerobics is one of the most highly accepted forms of exercise for fibromyalgia patients. It gets your pulse going and your blood circulating. Your sleep quality will improve and you will be less likely to wake up throughout the night.

 
• Water Aerobics is another form of exercise that’s easier on your body. Water exercises have helped numerous people with fibromyalgia. Water will also offer a form of resistance that you can include in your strength training! That’s double points for you!

 
• Water makes harder exercises much easier but you still want to be careful on overexerting yourself.

 
• Walking is another great way to get aerobically active. The great thing about walks is that any pace is great! I like to walk with a friend, it keeps your mind off the pain and before you know it, you’ve walked longer than you intended.

 
Conclusion

 
Don’t get discouraged with your fibromyalgia diagnosis. There are numerous ways to fight all the strange and dispiriting symptoms that go along with such a complicated disease. You shouldn’t always rely on medication and doctors to answer your every question and to cure all your problems. It takes dedication and experimentation to help relieve your pain and fatigue.

Exercise is an excellent way to put up a fight. You don’t even have to implement all these types of exercise into your regimen. Do what works best for you and whatever you do, don’t give up!

First posted on SABTrends

16 thoughts on “3 Exercises to Fight Back Against Fibromyalgia”

  1. I am so sorry you have been dealing with so much pain! I understand just how frustrating it can be. It is truly amazing what we can learn to deal with in life and the strength we all have, that is sometimes hidden. I have been battling Multiple Sclerosis for 16 years now and it has had its ups and downs, but I try to hold on to my positive attitude. I started my blog 2 months ago and it has been a great experience. I have been able to communicate with so many wonderful and amazing people that really understand what I go through. I look forward to reading more of your posts! Take care!!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. That is exactly why I started my blog as well! I have been able to connect with so many wonderful people that really understand. It is definitely exhausting fighting chronic pain and illness. But, we all are so strong, we just keep fighting!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I get it. I do have one co-worker with fibro but the rest don’t get it. It’s that way with my bipolar disorder too. There’s so many stigmas attached to both. I have no idea how MS must be but I do know enough to know that you must be a strong lady!

        Like

      3. Thank you so much! Both of my parents have bipolar disorder. I have NO communication with my father because he was always absent from my life. But, my mother on the other hand has been in my life. She has some other issues as well. But, she also tries to self medicate with alcohol and was doing “other” drugs. It has been quite the journey with her.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. It has caused her a world wind of problems. The police are not very sympathetic. She was arrested recently for several charges. Luckily, the felony charge was dismissed but she has court Thursday for 2 other charges that aren’t felonies. It has been a bad time!

        Like

  2. I’m loving your flow Casey! I didn’t know you had fibro and coincidentally i was researching it yesterday because I learned that Lady Gaga suffers from this as well. Amazing girl. You are going on my desktop 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.