The New Year Blues

The first few days of 2020 have been tough on me. I was down and out. Other people are thinking ahead but I’m always thinking of the past. I’m not anywhere where I would like to be in life.

At first, I thought I was slipping back into a bipolar depression episode and was terrified. Instead, I’m not depressed. I have the strong blues.

Off topic, I’ve been having horrible anxiety. I’ve been battling social anxiety still and my general anxiety has gotten worse.

Even before Trump sending an airstrike, every time I hear a loud boom outside I think WW3 is happening. I assume everybody hates me. I get terrified to post a blog post or record a video because someone I know is laughing at me.

Back to the new year blues.

I feel like I’ve accomplished nothing and that I’m running in circles. This sinking disappointing feeling dropped me for a few days.

I had to pull myself out of the blues. I’m going to share what I did so maybe it can help someone else who has the same issue at the moment.

  • It can’t be said enough… self-care is everything. After a few days of laying around and doing nothing, the night of the 3rd I went back to my night routine. I washed my face and applied my face cream. A clean face always makes me feel fresh and new. I use to not give a crap about my skin (I didn’t take very good care of myself when I was on drugs) but as I get older, I care.
  • Find your support. For me, my support is my boyfriend and my furbabies. Ricky (god, he’s amazing) took care of me the days I didn’t want to get out of bed. He talked to me. My doggos cuddled with me. Whenever I would cry, Fiona would jump on me and attack me with kisses. Sweetest dog EVER.
  • Make a list of things you’ve accomplished. When I let my emotions take over, I felt I had accomplished nothing. I sat down and looked back over the year and wrote down what I did accomplish because I accomplished more than I thought. I may not be where I want to be, but I’m on my way.
  • Make a list of goals. I don’t want to use the word “resolution” because the word feels so temporary. Instead, I made a list of obtainable goals for the year.

I hope this new year is treating all of you well.

Drop me a comment and tell me how your holidays went.

I’ve uploaded a few videos since my last blog post. I’ll drop them below in case you want to check them out. I appreciate all of your support on both my blog and channel.

I’m also in the process of recording my first episode for another channel. Midwest Mystery & Murder. Once it’s uploaded I’ll let you know for those who love true crime as much as I do. The first video is going to be on Dustin Honken and Angela Johnson.

Lastly, I’m changing my other website’s blog to focus on marketing instead of mental health. I know a lot of you liked how I had it set up but I’m making these changes to help my  freelance career. I hope you understand.

Any articles over there that aren’t on here, I’ll add. That means I’ll also be including more informational mental health websites on here.

Love you all,

Casey Elizabeth Dennis

16 thoughts on “The New Year Blues”

  1. Thank you for sharing. I think you are very brave to bare all for others to read. A couple of things that I do to help when I struggle is to use a Gratitude journal daily, writing something I’m grateful for. It can be as simple as feeling the breeze on my face. Anything that makes me look for all that us good in my life. Also I love to watch you tube/ted x – and watch inspirational speakers like Mel Robbins (there are many more) there is always something to learn that lifts the spirit 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey, I hope the New Year turns around in a positive direction. I myself noticed also a slow start. I think your support system is great and you’re doing very well with almost 2 channels on YT and the blogs!
    I look forward to true crime videos, I love them.
    To maybe brighten your day a bit, I’ve nominated you for the Sunshine Blogger Award. I wish you a happy Monday!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.